

Alliance for a Healthy South Sound (AHSS) Executive Committee Meeting May 10, 2019, 9:30AM -11:00AM Conference Call

Executive Committee Members:

Derek Young, Pierce County Council Commissioner Kevin Shutty, Mason County Commissioner Tye Menser, Thurston County

Additional Attendees:

Amy Hatch-Wineka, Thurston Regional Planning Council Brad Murphy, Thurston County Jeff Barney, Pierce County Stephanie Suter, Puget Sound Partnership Tom Kantz, Pierce County

Meeting Summary

I. AHSS Administration

- AHSS Executive Committee Chair and Vice Chair: AHSS Executive Committee moved to approve Commissioner Kevin Shutty (Mason County) as Chair and David Troutt (Nisqually) as Vice Chair; each will serve two-year terms.
 - The Alliance thanks Jeff Dickison (Squaxin) for his service as chair over the past two years and Bud Blake (former Thurston County Commissioner) for his service as Vice Chair.
- <u>South Sound Action Area Representative to the Ecosystem Coordination Board</u>: AHSS Executive Committee moved to approve Derek Young (Pierce County) to serve another term as representative on the Ecosystem Coordination Board for Puget Sound.
 - Councilmember Young serves as the representative of the South Sound Action Area which is the statutory term for the geography serviced by AHSS.
 - The <u>Ecosystem Coordination Board's</u> main role is to advise the Puget Sound Partnership's Leadership Council on carrying out its responsibilities. The Board is made up of 27 members representing specific interests around the South Sound. The Board helps coordinate local ecosystem planning efforts, and includes representatives from local government, Tribes, states, federal government, businesses, and NGOs.
- The Salmon Recovery Council new South Sound representative will be Commissioner Tye Menser.

II. Upcoming AHSS Administration

- <u>AHSS PSP Grant</u>: This grant from PSP funds coordinator support. Currently, Thurston County is
 the fiscal agent and Ross Strategic provides coordinator support. PSP is beginning the process of
 establishing the grant scope of work for 2019-2020, which will begin October 1. Over the
 Summer, the Executive Committee will be asked for their input on continuing coordinator
 support.
 - Accepting the grant for coordinator support is at the discretion of AHSS. The grant includes both required actions (reporting, etc.) and optional items.
 - Stephanie shared that the 2019-2020 grant will focus on implementation and communication, along with the potential for adaptive management.

- <u>LIO Capacity Contracts</u>: Some LIOs have requested that funding shift between implementation and capacity dollars in the current LIO base contracts. LIOs requested that \$100K be moved from the Strategic Initiative Leads to the LIO base contracts. Stephanie shared that PSP and EPA discussed this suggestion, and PSP decided not to shift funds and alter the funding model at this time. The Partnership believes the right solution to recovery challenges is to increase the total amount of funding available overall.
- AHSS Executive Committee Bylaws, Membership, Quorums, and Attendance:
 - The bylaws in section 4.1 identify eight Executive Committee members: one elected official each from Kitsap, Mason, and Thurston Counties, two elected officials from Pierce County (one from the Executive Office, the other from the Council), and one each from the Squaxin Island Tribe, Nisqually Tribe, and Puyallup Tribe.
 - Kitsap County resigned their seat in 2013, leaving the Executive Committee with seven seats.
 - The Puyallup Tribe has declined to participate in AHSS matters but do participate in the newly formed Puyallup/White LIO.
 - The Pierce County Executive Office has not participated since the Executive changed in January 2017.
 - Effectively, there are five participating Executive Committee members. Neither the
 Puyallup Tribe nor the Pierce County Executive Office have resigned their seats and they
 may still choose to participate. Bylaws section 4.4 establishes that a quorum is 50% of
 Executive Committee members. The Executive Committee has been counting quorum if
 3 Executive Committee members are present; phone participation is allowed. At times,
 it has been difficult for the Committee to reach quorum.

Executive Committee Comments:

- Councilmember Young volunteered to follow up with the Pierce County Executive Office and the Puyallup Tribe to see if there is any renewed interest from them in participation.
- The Executive Committee may like to continue discussion on bylaws and quorums at a future meeting. There was a sense that changing the quorum requirement may be a better path forward than changing membership. The quorum requirement is set by the Executive Committee.

III. Wrap up and Next Steps

Elizabeth will send materials on bylaws, membership, quorums, and attendance for the Executive Committee to review. Elizabeth will also continue to work to schedule quarterly Executive Committees for a time when a quorum can be present.